Just another WordPress.com weblog

Religulous After All


** Spolier Alert: Nothing I say can spoil the movie for you guys.**

Bill Maher’s new movie, Religulous is his take on faith and religion. His very satirical and hilarious take on Religion. But that’s also where it lacks, the movie is just his take. In short, a cynical guy roaming around the world in search of people who believe in religion and then making his point in its mockery. Its interesting, to say the least.. and also extremely entertaining. Hell, I couldn’t stop laughing throughout the movie. The guy’s a genius, and sadly a biased critic too. He very bluntly asks how anyone can believe in a being like God. (I personally don’t think its too hard). He starts off really well and the movie is absolutely enjoyable as he quotes G.W Bush “I believe that God wants everybody to be free. That’s what I believe. And that’s uh, been part of my… foreign policy.”

/*My favourite is this guy:
Bill Maher: You’re a senator. It worries me that people are running my country who believe in a talking snake.
Senator: You don’t have to pass an IQ test to be in the senate though. (The guy looked like he regretted saying it as soon as he did.. at least :P)*/

Maher has a point. Its hard to justify blind acceptance of books written by people long ago regardless of how tall their claims are. But he takes a very literal, where’s-the-proof-for-this approach. A lot could be allegorical in the holy books, not meant to be interpreted literally. I can’t agree with the way he’s chosen to put forward his opinion either. Too rude. And he never really gave the ‘other side’ a chance to say their story. Those poor unsuspecting faith holders. The movie loses a lot of steam as he adds many bogus quotes. Like the Da Vinci Code, I’m sure he’s taken creative liberties for the sake of a thrill. For ex; Krishna born to a carpenter and baptised in a river?! I have my doubts. Don’t believe the facts in that movie, at least not until he cites them credibly (this sounds suspiciously like my advisor :P). The movie ends at a very dramatic note, at which my regard for it fell.

But then, its a movie after all.

Leave a Reply

